12 C
New York
Saturday, April 1, 2023

Coach Jose Peseiro Invites 23 Players For 2023 AFCON Qualifiers

The head coach of the Super Eagles of Nigeria, Jose Peseiro has invited 23 players for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers in March.

Peseiro is expected to lead the Super Eagles to play Guinea Bissau home and away in March. The squad to execute the doubleheader is set and ready to fly.

According to the list of 23 players the Nigeria Football Federation released on Thursday, Coach Jose Peseiro invited the captain of the Nigeria U-20 side that came third at the last Africa U-20 Cup of Nations in Egypt, Daniel Bameyi.

The coach dropped goalie Maduka Okoye and picked under-20 goalie Chijioke Aniagboso and Rivers United goalkeeper Victor Sochima.

Peseiro called up Ahmed Musa, the Eagles’ captain, Victor Osimhen, and Ademola Lookman. While Kenneth Omeruo and Wilfred Ndidi return to the squad after almost a year.

Bruno Onyemaechi, a Portugal-based defender, will have the chance to compete for playing time with Semi Ajayi, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Kevin Akpoguma, and Calvin Bassey.

The first leg of the match between Nigeria and Guinea-Bissau will take place at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium in Abuja on Friday, March 24. While the return leg will take place at the Estadio 24 de Setembro in Bissau three days later.

The invited players are expected to start arriving at the Abuja team camp on Sunday.

Nigeria now leads Group A with six points after thrashing Sao Tome & Principe 10-0 away from home and overcoming Sierra Leone at home.

If they defeat Guinea-Bissau in both legs, the Super Eagles of Nigeria will be a foot away from the 2024 AFCON in Ivory Coast.

Below is the list of the 23 players invited for the double-headed matches against Guinea Bissau

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Kingsley Aniagboso (Giant Brillars)

Defenders: Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce SK, Turkey); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Calvin Bassey (FC Ajax, The Netherlands); Daniel Bameyi (YumYum FC); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Joe Aribo (Southampton, England)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta BC, Italy); Terem Moffi (OGC Nice, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Paul Onuachu (Southampton FC, England)

This article was originally published on Naija News

Go to Source
Author: Ernest Victor

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles